PDA

View Full Version : Vexilar Question

Ifishok
01-21-2010, 08:47 PM
I recently got a good deal on a vexilar fl-8 and I'm taking it out for the first time this weekend and I have a few questions... Keep in mind this is my first time with this wonderful technology

It was mounted on a boat before and came with the high speed triangle transducer, is this ok for ice fishing?

I would assume put the transducer towards the bottom of the ice, and does it have to be level? Whats a good float?

Any other hints or ideas would be great, thanks for your help!

anthony10092
01-21-2010, 10:14 PM
I am not sure about the transducer that you have and if it would work for the ice or not. I have mine mounted on my boat with the same transducer that you are talking about and then the other for ice. You can buy an ice ducer transducer that just screws into the back. The one I have is a 12 deg. cone, and love it. I would assume that it might work but am not sure. Also, mine has foam float that slips onto the cable that is made by vexilar. I had to replace mine at the end of last season and think Gander Mountain charged around $10 for it (the float).

Here is vexilars site with the ice transducer: They are $79 for the ice ducer transducer
http://vexilar.com/pages/accessories/accy_transducers_ice.html

CrankYanker
01-21-2010, 10:57 PM
You will probably want to buy the ice transducer... Keeping the other level will be very very very annoying, you'll be messin around with that more than fishing.. the ice ducers and float are perfect cause you can toss it out of the hole when a fish is on and toss it right back in when your lines on the way back down... Self levels
this may be why you got such a good deal... minor detail though

bottle_bass
01-22-2010, 02:36 PM